Our Mission

To promote social and fraternal relationship among its members and preserve  Bavarian  folk dancing, customs and traditions that are part of it.

Current Board

Bavarian Club Edelweiss was founded in 1933 by Franz Stein and fellow German immigrants from the Bavarian region of southern Germany.  The club was established as a small German American society to preserve the Bavarian customs and traditions and, through four generations, continues  to grow and represent authentic style of “Schuhplattler” folk dancing.


Today, the club sponsors three folk dance levels.  Our “Jugendgruppe”, includes children from ages 5 to 15, and their group leader is Carol Hepp, email: frauhepp@yahoo.com.  Our “Volstanzgruppe” includes dancers over age 50, and their group leader is Monica Luedke, email: mwluedke@yahoo.com.  Our core Schuhplattler dancers have performed at the Westchester County Center, New Jersey Arts Center, the United Nations, and numerous venues over the years.  They have competed at the national level at a Gaufest (or convention) held every two years hosted by German American clubs throughout the United States and Canada.  Their group leader is Roland Lex, email: rolandlex@verizon.net. 


We host three annual events as follows, which are open to the public, and we look forward to meeting you and sharing our “Gemutlichkeit” (friendship):


Bierfest-on-the-Hudson will be held on Saturday, June 15, 2019, from 12:00 noon to 6:00 pm at Kolping-on-the-Hudson, Montrose, NY.  German food and beer will be sold.  Traditional music and dancing will be provided by our folk dancers.  The grounds include a play area for children and a swimming pool.


Oktoberfest will be held on Sunday, September 29, 2019, beginning at 12:00 noon to 6:00 pm at Krucker’s Picnic Grove in Pomona, NY.  German food and beer will be available at a fixed price yet to be announced.


Christkindl Markt, a German Christmas Fair, will be held on Saturday, November 9, 2019, from 10:am to 4:00 pm, located at the Holy Name of Jesus Auditorium in Valhalla, NY.  German specialties, homemade cookies and stolen for the holidays are available for purchase.  Come feast on our homemade potato pancakes and enjoy desserts at the Café.  We host between 30 and 40 crafters for your Christmas shopping with free  admission and parking.


Separately, we invite you to “Come and Enjoy” the annual Steuben Day Parade, on Fifth Avenue, in New York City on September 21, 2019 beginning at 12 noon at 65th Street and Fifth Avenue.  Many German clubs and bands from Germany, New York, New Jersey and beyond participate wearing their regional garments and performing authentic music.  After the parade the Oktoberfest in Central Park commences on 72nd Street with food, brew, music and dancing.  Tickets for Central Park can be purchased at www.GermanParadeNYC.org/shop.


  For more information on our Club and upcoming events, please find us on Facebook at Bavarianclubedelweiss Westchester, NY and on our website www.Bavarianclubedelweiss.org


We hold monthly meetings at the American Legion Hall, in Thornwood, NY.  Club membership is open to anyone of German ancestry and over the age of eighteen.  Please contact Monika Luedke for club membership information, contact number 914-552-5262.


Gloria Mayer McSweeney is the club president and can be reached at 845-240-3227 for additional information.  We wish you “Leben Geniessen”, to enjoy life!




About Us

President:  Gloria Mayer McSweeney
1st Vice President:  Margaret Mezic
2nd Vice President:  Ernie Wieting
Treasurer:  David Dougall
Corresponding Secretary:  Monika Link Philips
Recording Secretary:  Susan Ackerly
1. Vorplattler:  Roland Lex

2. Vorplattler: Kenneth Lex

Vortaenzerin: Ingrid Wittmann

Trustees:  Dietmar Link

                      Chris Rodrick

                     Gregory Wagner